Illinois Cracking Down on Driving with Electronic Devices

Effective July 1, 2019, Illinois will take a more aggressive stance on driving with electronic devices. [1]  Beginning this summer, driving while using a cell phone or other electronic device is a moving violation.  Fines for driving with an electronic device will remain the same, costing $75 for the first offense, $100 for the second offense, $125 for the third offense, and $150 for a fourth of subsequent offense.

Previously, Illinois law provided that only second time or subsequent offenders could be found guilty of a moving violation. Moving violations appear on your driving record, whereas nonmoving violations do not. While this may not seem like a radical change from the previous version of the law, it may prove to have a significant impact on Illinois motorists for several reasons.

First, moving violations are often considered by insurance companies. Because moving violations appear on your driving record, insurance companies are able to see them and may adjust your rates based on violations for driving with an electronic device.

Second, receiving numerous moving violations can result in the loss or suspension of your license. Your driver’s license can be suspended or revoked if you receive three or more moving violations within a twelve-month period. [2]  If you are under the age of twenty-one, your license can also be suspended or revoked if you receive two or more moving violations within a twenty-four-month period. Depending on the nature of the violations, a suspension may last between two and twelve months.  If the violations are more serious or continue, your license can even be revoked.

Third, moving violations can have serious implications for people with a commercial driver’s license (CDL).  The Motor Carrier Safety Improvement Act of 1999 provides for CDLs to be suspended or revoked for certain moving violations and even holds that drivers with a CDL may have their CDL revoked or suspended if they are convicted of certain types of moving violations in their personal vehicle. [3]  Because of this, it is very important for a CDL holder to avoid moving violations at all costs.

For more information regarding the new electronic communication devices law or other traffic matters, call Sherer Law Offices at (618) 670-0626.

The information provided on this site is not, nor is it intended to be, legal advice.  You should consult with an attorney for advice regarding your individual situation. We invite you to contact us and welcome your calls, emails, and communications.  Contacting our offices does not create an attorney-client relationship.  Please do not send any confidential information to us unless and until such time as an attorney-client relationship has been established.

Past results do not guarantee future results. Every case is different and is decided on its own merits. Any testimonials or endorsements regarding services do not constitute a guarantee, warranty, or prediction regarding the outcome of your legal matter. 

The choice of a lawyer is an important decision and should not be based solely on advertisements.





Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top